Our Mr Battle 2016 is Joe McElderry 


Joe McElderry 1298 Cropped.jpg.gallery

At aged 18 years old the young lad from South Shields he won the X-Factor in 2009 and went on to have a No 1 hit in the UK & Ireland with a rendition of Miley Cyrus’s ‘The Climb’ for which he was nominated for a BRIT Award.

Since then he has gone on to release 4 widely acclaimed albums, the highest number released so far by an X-Factor winner and continues to tour extensively across the world.

Other Television credits include regular appearances on Channel 4’s Countdown programme as one of the youngest ever to appear in Dictionary Corner. He also won TV’s Pop Star to opera Star in 2011 and winter sports reality show The Jump in 2014.

Alongside his tours he is also a highly rated musical theatre performer, appearing regularly in Pantomime and recently took the lead role s well in Tommy the rock opera. Currently he is on a UK Tour in the title role of Joseph & His Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat.

Joe McElderry is 24 years old – he will be 25 when he appears at battle and has regularly visited Jersey on holiday so is familiar with the Island

and before

Battle of Flowers Jersey 2015 - Daytime ParadeMr Battle 2015 was DIY expert and television presenter Craig Phillips who joined a list of former celebrity Mr Battles in recent years, including:

Matthew Lewis (Harry Potter)

Matthew Wolfenden (Emmerdale)

Gareth Gates (Pop Idol)

Marco Pierre White (Celebrity Chef)

Ray Quinn (X-Factor)

Mikey North (Coronation Street)

Christopher Biggins (I’m a Celebrity)

Keiran Bracken (Dancing on Ice)